andrewgodsell

Tales from an author

Organizing Myself Out of Organizing

Books and organisation

Fortress of Dissolitude

books1I recently painted my office. I had to move all the books off the bookshelves and everything out of the room.

Furniture is starting to move back into the office. Book shelves first. Now the books. Now the organizing of the books.

I have a strong sense that I should organize the books. I like to keep it simple. Start with basic genres, fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama. That’s as sophisticated as I get. Alphabetical within genre.

Half way through the sorting I begin to think that organizing all this really sucks: partially because I can barely remember the order in which the alphabet progresses and partially because I’d rather do anything in the world other than organize. I often think it would be preferable just to give the stuff away than to struggle with organizing.

I like things that are organized. I just don’t want to do it. I would…

View original post 131 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

