andrewgodsell

Tales from an author

The importance of writing down your life

Saw this and thought yes journals are important – I have been writing my diary of obscurity for 30 years

breakfast with words

How often do you journal?

anne frank diary Diary of Anne Frank (CC by SA 2.0)

My response to this question is: not often enough.

Some people love to journal. They can’t live without it. They might not even be writers, but they record their life to minute. Perhaps a lot goes on in their mind, and writing it down sorts all those tangles out.

I’m not one of those people, despite calling myself a writer.

I only journal when there’s something interesting to write about. I’ve tried the daily journal thing because after reading the diary of Samuel Pepys, I thought––hey, diaries can be literature too! But I quickly discovered that writing every day events every day is a chore. Moreover, I realized how boring my life was since I have a pretty regular schedule. Even for Samuel Pepys, the only entry I can remember reading about is his account of…

View original post 205 more words

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The importance of writing down your life

  1. Thanks for the reblog! Honoured.

Leave a Reply

