andrewgodsell

Tales from an author

The Diary of Samuel Pepys (aged 13 and three quarters)

An amusing fragment shooting through cyberspace

The Iron Room

During preparations for the move to the Library of Birmingham, an exciting discovery has been made in Birmingham Archives & Heritage. It is a 17th-century manuscript, which is headed: The Diary of Samuel Pepys (aged 13 and three quarters). We are here publishing a transcript of this diary for the first time.

 24 November 1646

I have this day decided to begin a journal or diary on the off chance that someone in some future age will want to write a biography of me. My headmaster tells me that I might turn out to be quite interesting, which is more than I can say for him. What shall I call myself (apart from a scholar and a potentially interesting person) ? Am I a journalist or a diarrhoea ? I must consult a dictionary.

 25 November

I showed my diary to the headmaster and he crossed out diarrhoea, saying that the correct word…

View original post 605 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

